‘The Champion Of Garathorm’

The Champion Of Garathorm

St. Albans:  Mayflower, 1973 (July 12th) mass-sized paperback;
sub-titled “The Chronicles of Castle Brass
Being a sequel to the High History of the Runestaff
of which this is the second volume” on title page;
alternatively sub-titled “The Second Volume Of The Chronicles Of Castle Brass” on front cover;
original price:  30p;
127 pages;
I.S.B.N.:  583-12199-3
cover artist:  Bob Habberfield (sic)
no (individual) hardcover edition.

Second volume in the last of two separate series featuring Duke Dorian Hawkmoon von Köln.  It was collected in The Chronicles Of Castle Brass (1985), the Count Brass omnibus (1993) and Hawkmoon: Count Brass (2013) with Count Brass (1973) and The Quest For Tanelorn (1975).

(Preceded by Count Brass)

First edition, reprinted 1974, 1975 (40p), 1977 (60p).
Mayflower/Granada p/b ed. (1980, 95p), 0-583-12199-3, reprinted 1981.
Granada p/b ed. (1983, £1·50).

London: Grafton paperback, 1986 (November);
original price:  £2·50;
I.S.B.N.:  0-586-20555-1 (0-583-12199-3 on copyright page);
cover artist:  Paul Damon.

Reprinted 1988

First American edition:  New York: Dell mass-sized paperback, 1976 (November);
sub-titled “The Chronicles Of Castle Brass Volume II” on title page;
original price:  $1·25;
159 pages;
I.S.B.N.:  440-01173;
cover artist:  “RLC” (Richard L. Courtney).

Reprinted 1978 ($1·50)
Dell p/b ed., 1981 (March),
sub-titled “The Second Volume of The Chronicles of Castle Brass” on title page;
original price:  $2·25;
I.S.B.N.:  0-440-01173-0;
cover artist:  Ezra Tucker.

Berkley paperback, 1985 (April);
sub-titled “The Chronicles of Castle Brass Volume II” on title page;
original price:  $2·75;
159 pages;
I.S.B.N.:  0-425-07646-6;
cover artist:  Robert Gould.

Reprinted 1986 ($2·95), 0-425-09042-6.

(Followed by The Quest For Tanelorn)

N.B. (1): All U.K. editions, up to and including the Grafton paperback, 1986, contain the following author’s “Note to the Reader

While it is a sequel to the previous volume in the series called The Chronicles of Castle Brass, this particular book may also be read as a sequel to the second book in the Eternal Champion series, Phoenix in Obsidian.

N.B. (2):  In the early 1990s, Moorcock began an ambitious project of re-ordering, revising and republishing much of his back-catalogue in a large set of definitive omnibuses, giving the opportunity to change several character names in order to bring them in line with the developing ‘Von Bek’ series, which had begun in 1981 with The War Hound and the World’s Pain, although the name’s derivation can in fact be traced back as far as ‘Katinka van Bak’ in The Champion Of Garathorm.

(Click here for Foreign Editions)

The Champion Of Garathorm is also available as an e-book: 9780575092501.