‘The Adventures Of Una Persson And Catherine Cornelius In The Twentieth Century’

The Adventures Of Una Persson And Catherine Cornelius In The Twentieth Century

London:  Quartet Books, 1976 (October 25th) hardcover and simultaneous trade-sized paperback;
sub-titled “A Romance” on title page;
original price:  £3·95 (both editions);
216 pages;
I.S.B.N.:  0-7043-2121-1 (both editions);
cover artist:  Romain Slocombe;
paperback edition in plain white covers with dust-wrapper;
no (individual) American edition.

A supplementary novel to the Cornelius tetralogy, collected (in 1980) with The Black Corridor (q.v.), then in The Cornelius Chronicles Vol. III (1987) with ‘The Alchemist’s Question’ (a novella originally published in the 1984 collection, The Opium General And Other Stories), and later in A Cornelius Calendar with The Entropy Tango, ‘Gold Diggers Of 1977’/The Great Rock ’n’ Roll Swindle and ‘The Alchemist’s Question’ (1993, expanded in 2015 to include Firing The Cathedral and Modem Times 2.0).

Trade paperback (simultaneous 1st ed., not to scale)

St. Albans:  Mayflower/Granada, 1980 (May 15th) mass-sized paperback;
“Una Persson And Catherine Cornelius” & “Granada” only, on spine;
original price:  £1·25;
254 pages;
I.S.B.N.:  0-583-13101-8;
cover artist:  Melvyn (Grant).

1980 p/b edition, reprinted Granada (1981), Grafton (1986, £2·50).