‘The Nomad Of Time’

The Nomad Of Time

New York:  Doubleday (via the Science Fiction Book Club), 1982 (December) but undated hardcover;
original (club) price: $5·98;
442 pages;

I.S.B.N.: none (code: 6484);
cover artist: Fred Labitzke.

The Nomad Of Time is an omnibus of Moorcock’s proto-steampunk trilogy featuring Oswald Bastable, the titular Nomad of Time, which (like the Cornelius books) tackles head-on the legacies of British imperialism Empire gone sour and collects The Warlord Of The Air (1971), The Land Leviathan (1974) and The Steel Tsar (1981). In 1993, it was retitled as A Nomad Of The Time Streams, featuring the first omnibus appearance of uncensored text for The Warlord Of The Air, as well as a substantial expansion/revision of The Steel Tsar. This later version was also, in 2013, title-reverted back to The Nomad Of Time.

First edition

First British edition: Panther/Granada mass-sized paperback, 1984 (November 22nd);
original price:  £2·95;
477 pages (each novel numbered separately);
I.S.B.N.:  0-586-06135-5 (0-583- on copyright page);

cover artist:  Melvyn (Grant).

Reprinted 1985, 1986 (Grafton, £3·50) & 1988 (£3·95).

First expanded/revised edition (by this title): London: Gollancz trade-paperback, 2014 (April 10th);
sub-titled “A Scientific Romance” on title page;
part of the Michael Moorcock Collection;
edited by John Davey;
original price:  £10·99;
xxiv + 548 pages;

includes ‘Introduction To The Michael Moorcock Collection’ by John Clute (pp. vii–xii);
also includes ‘Introduction To The Michael Moorcock Collection’ by Moorcock (pp. xiii–xviii);
I.S.B.N.:  978-0-575-09269-3;
cover artist:  Chris Moeller;

illustrated by James Cawthorn.

Copyright page states “Revised versions”, but should be more accurately ‘Versions contain minor textual amendments’.

Contents (first edition):-
p. 1: The Warlord Of The Air;
p. 157: The Land Leviathan;
p. 303: The Steel Tsar.

Contents (expanded/revised edition):-
p. vii‘Introduction To The Michael Moorcock Collection (non-fiction) by John Clute;
p. xiiiIntroduction To The Michael Moorcock Collection (non-fiction) by Moorcock;
p. xx/xxiFrontispiece by James Cawthorn;
p. xxiiiContents page;
p. 1: The Warlord Of The Air (as The First Adventure: The Warlord Of The Air on title page);
p. 185: The Land Leviathan (as The Second Adventure: The Land Leviathan on title page);
p. 353: The Steel Tsar (as The Third Adventure: The Steel Tsar on title page);
p. 548: End-piece by Cawthorn.

(Click here for Foreign Editions)