‘Hawkmoon: The History Of The Runestaff’

Hawkmoon: The History Of The Runestaff

London: Gollancz trade-sized paperback, 2013 (April 11th);
part of the Michael Moorcock Collection;
edited by John Davey;
original price:  £9·99;
xxii + 627 pages;

includes ‘Introduction To The Michael Moorcock Collection’ by John Clute (pp. vii–xii);
also includes ‘Introduction To The Michael Moorcock Collection’ by Moorcock (pp. xiii–xviii);
I.S.B.N.:  978-0-575-10869-1;
cover artist:  James Cawthorn (also interior);

no American edition (by this title).

An omnibus of the first of two separate series featuring Duke Dorian Hawkmoon von Köln collecting (with texts revised in 1977) the novels The Jewel In The Skull (1967), The Mad God’s Amulet (1968/’69), The Sword Of The Dawn (1968) and The Runestaff (1969) Hawkmoon: The History Of The Runestaff was retitled from the Hawkmoon omnibus (1992), which itself was retitled from The History Of The Runestaff (unrevised, 1979).

(+ later reprint[s], £12·99)
Copyright page states “Revised version”, but should be more accurately ‘Version contains minor textual amendments’.

p. vii‘Introduction To The Michael Moorcock Collection (non-fiction) by John Clute;
p. xiiiIntroduction To The Michael Moorcock Collection (non-fiction) by Moorcock;
p. xixContents page;
pp. xx/xxi: ‘The World Of The Dark Empire’ (map) by James Cawthorn;
p. 1: The Jewel In The Skull (as The First Book Of Hawkmoon: The Jewel In The Skull on title page);
p. 169: The Mad God’s Amulet (as The Second Book Of Hawkmoon: The Mad God’s Amulet on title page);
p. 323: The Sword Of The Dawn (as The Third Book Of Hawkmoon: The Sword Of The Dawn on title page);
p. 483: The Runestaff (as The Fourth Book Of Hawkmoon: The Runestaff on title page).

(Click here for Graphic Adaptations)

(Click here for Foreign Editions)