‘Breakfast In The Ruins And Other Stories’

Breakfast In The Ruins And Other Stories

London: Gollancz trade-sized paperback, 2014 (December 26th);
sub-titled “The Best Short Fiction of Michael Moorcock Volume 3” on title page;
part of the Michael Moorcock Collection;
edited by John Davey;
original price:  £9·99;
xxii + 325 pages;

includes ‘Introduction To The Michael Moorcock Collection’ by John Clute (pp. vii–xii);
also includes ‘Introduction To The Michael Moorcock Collection’ by Moorcock (pp. xiii–xviii);
I.S.B.N.:  978-0-575-11553-8;
cover artist:  Stanislaw Fernandes.

A collection of one novel + shorter fiction (see below)…

First edition
(+ later reprint[s])

p. vii: ‘Introduction To The Michael Moorcock Collection (non-fiction) by John Clute;
p. xiii: Introduction To The Michael Moorcock Collection (non-fiction) by Moorcock;
p. xix: Contents page;
p. xxi: Dedication page;
p. 1: Breakfast In The Ruins;
p. 167: ‘The Time Dweller’;
p. 187: ‘Escape From Evening’;
p. 219: ‘A Dead Singer’;
p. 245: ‘London Flesh’;
p. 265: ‘Behold The Man’;
p. 325: Acknowledgements.

N.B. The printer’s key (or number line) on the copyright page states “3 5 7 9 10 8 6 4 2”, suggesting that this is a reprint. However, having queried it at the time of publication, I was told by Gollancz’s editor that “According to […] yes, for some reason I don’t claim to understand, there are no 1st printings. Is very very odd”. So unless anyone knows (and can prove) otherwise, the first edition of this title is numbered as shown above.