‘The Rituals Of Infinity’

The Rituals Of Infinity

London:  Arrow, 1971 (July 5th) mass-sized paperback;
sub-titled “Or The New Adventures Of Doctor Faustus” on title page (of 1st ed. only);
original price:  25p;
192 pages;
I.S.B.N.:  0-09-004880-6;
cover artist:  unknown;
(individual) hardcover edition.

A (more or less) standalone novel, The Rituals Of Infinity was first serialised in New Worlds (q.v.) in 1965/’66, as The Wrecks Of Time by ‘James Colvin’. It first appeared in book form (under Moorcock’s own name and still called Wrecks…) in 1967 with unauthorised cuts and/or changes, before being restored and retitled as The Rituals Of Infinity in 1971, then later title-reverted back to The Wrecks Of Time in 1994. It was collected (as Wrecks…) revised in The Roads Between The Worlds (1996), and later with its original text (mostly) restored in Travelling To Utopia (2014).

First edition (bearing this title).
Arrow p/b ed. (1975, 45p), I.S.B.N. 0-09-910340-0 (as 0-09-910340-1 on copyright page).
Arrow p/b ed. (1979, 80p), I.S.B.N. 0-09-910040-1; cover artist:  Geoff Taylor.

London: New English Library, 1986 (September 4th) trade-sized paperback;
original price:  £2·50;
159 pages;
I.S.B.N.:  0-450-39532-4;
cover artist:  Steve Crisp(?).

Reprinted 1989

First American edition (as The Rituals Of Infinity): New York: DAW Books, 1978 (September) mass-sized paperback;
original price:  $1·50;
157 pages;
I.S.B.N.:  0-87997-404-4;
cover artist:  Michael Mariano.

(Click here for Foreign Editions)