‘Elric: The Sleeping Sorceress And Other Stories’

Elric: The Sleeping Sorceress And Other Stories

London: Gollancz trade-sized paperback, 2013 (November 14th);
as “Elric: The Sleeping Sorceress” only, on cover & spine;
part of the Michael Moorcock Collection;
edited by John Davey;
original price:  £9·99;
xxiv + 404 pages;

includes ‘Introduction To The Michael Moorcock Collection’ by John Clute (pp. vii–xii);
also includes ‘Introduction To The Michael Moorcock Collection’ by Moorcock (pp. xiii–xviii);
I.S.B.N.:  978-0-575-11388-6;
cover artist:  Chris Achilléos;

illustrated by James Cawthorn;
foreword by Walter Mosley;
no American edition.

Elric of Melniboné — proud prince of ruins, kinslayer — call him what you will. He remains, together with maybe Jerry Cornelius, Moorcock’s most enduring, if not always most endearing, character…

Elric: The Sleeping Sorceress And Other Stories is a collection of one Elric novel plus shorter fiction & non-fiction (not all of which is related directly to the Elric Saga; see below)…

(+ later reprint[s])
Copyright page states “Revised versions”, but should be more accurately ‘Versions contain minor textual amendments’.

p. vii‘Introduction To The Michael Moorcock Collection (non-fiction) by John Clute;
p. xiiiIntroduction To The Michael Moorcock Collection (non-fiction) by Moorcock;
p. xixContents page;
pp. xx/xxi: ‘Elric In The Young Kingdoms’ (map) by James Cawthorn;
p. xxiiiDedication page;
p. 1: ‘My Eternal Champion’ (non-fiction) by Michael Chabon;
p. 3: ‘The Eternal Champion’;
p. 65: ‘The Greater Conqueror’;
p. 115: ‘Earl Aubec Of Malador: Outline For A Series Of Four Fantasy Novels’ (as ‘Earl Aubec Of Malador’ only, on contents page);
p. 125: The Sleeping Sorceress;
p. 295: ‘The Stone Thing: A Tale Of Strange Parts’ (as ‘The Stone Thing’ only, on contents page);
p. 299: ‘Sir Milk-and-Blood’;
p. 309: ‘The Roaming Forest: A Tale Of The Red Archer’ (as ‘The Roaming Forest’ only, on contents page);
p. 337: ‘The Flaneur Des Arcades De L’Opera’;
p. 389: ‘Aspects Of Fantasy: 4. Conclusion (non-fiction) (as ‘Aspects Of Fantasy (4)’ on contents page);
pp. 400/401: ‘The Age Of The Young Kingdoms’ (map) (not on contents page) by Cawthorn;
pp. 403/404: Acknowledgements pages.

Elric: The Sleeping Sorceress And Other Stories is also available as an e-book: 9780575113916.