‘Elric: The Sailor On The Seas Of Fate’

Elric: The Sailor On The Seas Of Fate

London: Gollancz trade-sized paperback, 2013 (September 12th);
part of the Michael Moorcock Collection;
edited by John Davey;
original price:  £8·99;
xxiv + 327 pages;

includes ‘Introduction To The Michael Moorcock Collection’ by John Clute (pp. vii–xii);
also includes ‘Introduction To The Michael Moorcock Collection’ by Moorcock (pp. xiii–xviii);
I.S.B.N.:  978-0-575-11360-2;
cover artist:  Michael Whelan;

illustrated by James Cawthorn;
foreword by Michael Chabon;
no American edition.

Elric of Melniboné — proud prince of ruins, kinslayer — call him what you will. He remains, together with maybe Jerry Cornelius, Moorcock’s most enduring, if not always most endearing, character…

Elric: The Sailor On The Seas Of Fate is a collection of one novel plus shorter fiction & non-fiction (see below)…

(+ later reprint[s], £9·99)
Copyright page states “Revised versions”, but should be more accurately ‘Versions contain minor textual amendments’.

p. vii‘Introduction To The Michael Moorcock Collection (non-fiction) by John Clute;
p. xiiiIntroduction To The Michael Moorcock Collection (non-fiction) by Moorcock;
p. xixContents page;
pp. xx/xxi: ‘Elric In The Young Kingdoms’ (map) by James Cawthorn;
p. xxiiiDedication page;
p. 1: Foreword (non-fiction) by Michael Chabon;
p. 3: ‘Introduction To The AudioRealms Version Of The Sailor On The Seas Of Fate (as ‘AudioRealms Introduction’ only, on contents page);
p. 9: The Sailor On The Seas Of Fate;
p. 179: ‘The Dreaming City’;
p. 219: ‘A Portrait In Ivory’ (as ‘Portrait In Ivory’ only, on contents page);
p. 233: ‘While The Gods Laugh’;
p. 271: ‘The Singing Citadel’;
p. 227: ‘Aspects Of Fantasy: 3. Figures Of Faust (non-fiction) (as ‘Aspects Of Fantasy (3)’ on contents page);
p. 322: ‘Elric: A Personality At War’ (non-fiction) by Adrian Snook;
p. 325: ‘The Age Of The Young Kingdoms’ (map) (not on contents page) by Cawthorn;
pp. 326/327: Acknowledgements pages.

Elric: The Sailor On The Seas Of Fate is also available as an e-book: 9780575113749.