‘Мессия На Краю Времени’

Мессия На Краю Времени

Saratov and St. Petersburg: Тролль (Troll) and Северо-Запад (Northwest), simultaneous hardcovers, 1995;
title translates as “Messiah At The Edge Of Time”;
original prices: unknown;
480 pages;

I.S.B.N.s:  5-87365-020-9 (Troll) & 5-8352-0338-1 (Northwest);
cover artist: unknown;
illustrated by Elena Kuznetsova.

Мессия На Краю Времени is a Russian omnibus — unseen (unverified) — of the three novellas comprising the Legends From The End Of Time collection (1976) together with The Transformation Of Miss Mavis Ming (1977), all linked to what is probably Moorcock’s best-loved trilogy, ‘The Dancers At The End Of Time’, plus one tangentially connected novel — see below — and this combined-title edition is unique, with no English-language equivalent.

p. 5: Бледные Розы (‘Pale Roses’);
p. 45: Белые Звёзды(‘White Stars’);
p. 89: Древние Тени(‘Ancient Shadows’);
p. 165: Преображение Мисс Мэвис Минг, или Мессия На Краю Времениь (The Transformation Of Miss Mavis Ming[, or A Messiah At The End Of Time]);
p. 303: У Врат Преисподней Ветренно (The Winds Of Limbo);
p. 468: ‘Комментарии’ (‘Comments’).

N.B. The Transformation Of Miss Mavis Ming has occasionally been referred to in some ‘By The Same Author’ listings with the sub-title “Return Of The Fireclown”, as it features a reprise of the character who first appeared in the novel The Fireclown (a.k.a. The Winds Of Limbo [see above]) in 1965 (whilst Mavis Ming first appeared in another novel, Somewhere In The Night [a.k.a. The Chinese Agent], in 1966).

Of peripheral note: У Врат Преисподней Ветренно the Russian title for The Winds Of Limbo translates rather quaintly as “It’s Windy At The Gates Of The Underworld”.